A Life-Changing Decision: Jamie Holmes Decides Christmas is About Giving, Not Receiving


couragetoshineblog:

http://uromed.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/a-life-changing-decision-jamie-holmes-decides-christmas-is-about-giving-not-receiving/

UroMed Hometown Hero – Jamie Holmes Part 2 - Originally Posted DECEMBER 7, 2011

With Jamie's Dream Team, Jamie Holmes has set her sights on giving more than she gets!

Right before I was 15-years old, I went in for another surgery. My sister always would stay with me in the hospital before my operations. This time there was a little girl in the room with me who needed a heart transplant. Her dad was overseas in the military, and we felt so sorry for her. I had a real burden to try and help people like her and bring some joy into their lives.

At this time, I was in the hospital for a spinal-cord operation, because my spinal cord was tethered. (This disorder meant my spinal cord was pulled-down and stuck to the spinal canal, instead of floating inside the spinal canal). Anytime you undergo surgery, the possibility of death is a real fear that you have to face.

Although I always was very sick, I’d grown-up in a family of givers. Each year my sister and I got to pick-out underprivileged families who perhaps had a child who was sick. Then my family and I became Secret Santas to them.

Read more at: http://uromed.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/a-life-changing-decision-jamie-holmes-decides-christmas-is-about-giving-not-receiving/

Originally posted on UroMed Catheter Health Blog:

Editor’s Note: Jamie Holmes of  White Oak, Pennsylvania, learned at an early age that her real joy in life began once she focused on others, instead of herself. This amazing 24-year-old woman not only has helped herself but hundreds of others as well. In reading this week’s story of “Jamie Holmes – The Dream Giver,” you’ll find truths that may change your life forever for the better. Part 2 of a 4-part series.

With Jamie's Dream Team, Jamie Holmes has set her sights on giving more than she gets!

With Jamie's Dream Team, Jamie Holmes has set her sights on giving more than she gets!

Right before I was 15-years old, I went in for another surgery. My sister always would stay with me in the hospital before my operations. This time there was a little girl in the room with me who needed a heart transplant. Her dad was overseas in the military, and we felt so sorry for her. I had a real burden to try and help people like her and bring some joy into their lives.

At…

View original 558 more words

Categories: Courage to Shine News, Inspirational Stories, Role Models | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

